001_redid

About J-NAVI

Founded as a dynamic DMC based in Berlin and Kyoto. The two founders and managing directors Oliver E. Kühne (Asia expert and art historian; right) and Martin Neumann (geographer and historian; left) together navigate the company that brings your guests closer to Asia, its cultures, natural experiences and people in a sustainable and unforgettable way. With more than 10 years of experience in different tourism industries and sectors, we have gained a lot of experience locally and internationally. Whether as tour guides, entrepreneurs, cultural managers, lecturers, consultants or PR managers:

We know what makes a contemporary and trendy travel experience!

Philosophy

Through our many years of experience in the hospitality sector and direct guest contact for other DMCs, we know what your customers (whether groups or FITs) want. Whether it is a demanding hiking trip, a relaxed culinary tour or a cultural highlight program: With us at your side, you will receive a land package that is perfectly tailored to your respective customer segment, without having to forego new trends and sustainability. LOHAS also feel comfortable with us. 

And more than that: Through our dense partner network and our company set-up in Germany, Japan and South Korea, we are not only close to your side, but also to that of your guests. Support without time difference and available around the clock! Our binational set-up enables us to offer you our special programs at competitive prices also through direct partner agreements on the otherwise difficult to access Japanese market.

This is also what we stand for with our slogan:

Authentic. Sustainable. Unforgettable.

With our travel packages, your guests will experience the countries of Asia according to their travel tastes and interest profiles. Whether as a challenging active trip or as a relaxed luxury trip to the culinary and cultural highlights. Thanks to our long working experience in the international tourism market, J-NAVI has a wide network of local partners. This makes it possible for us not only to offer sophisticated and trendy destinations, but also to offer our travel packages at competitive prices.

With our permanent location in Kyoto, we can promptly implement any customer tour requests and easily expand our contacts with local suppliers. We work to realize your dreams and wishes for a perfect trip without any ifs and buts. Authentic means for us to bring your guests together with the local people. Whether at homestays, evening dinners with Japanese families, farm visits or e.g. expert lectures: J-NAVI brings your guests together with the peoples of Asia.

We realize sustainability at different levels of our company and in our tours:

  • We save unnecessary CO2 emissions by choosing short journeys between destinations and using trains, public transport and bicycles, and only resort to buses when the route does not allow otherwise.
  • We support with 2% of our annual revenue the Reforestation projects in Saxonnia and Brandenburg.
  • We are committed to paperless communications and use recycled paper when paper must be used.
  • We avoid unnecessary business trips and flights due to our binational setup in Japan and Germany. 
  • We promote local tourism away from the centersin order to also make a sustainable contribution to the Japanese economy.
  • Many of our tours comply with the TourCert standard. 
  • We rely on small groups and see ourselves as part of the "soft tourism" movement.

We also manage our company sustainably:

  • We pay tour guides according to the recommendations of the Association of German Study Tour Guides. Through additional training and further education programs and permanent employment of tour guides, we offer long-term perspectives and prevent a "freelance precariat" in the long term.
  • J-NAVI wants to grow sustainably. Therefore, we focus our travel packages on individual and target group-oriented offers that are convincing without losing sight of competitive price structures.
  • We establish long-term local partnerships in order to also sustainably promote rural regions and local small businesses and traditional enterprises.

Helicopter flights over Tokyo? Visit farms and agra farms? Dinner with a sumo wrestler? Interview with a theater or history expert? Preparing dinner with a local family? With us all this is possible! 

Not just one temple after another! Not only well-trodden tourist paths! But authentic and unforgettable experiences! 

The focus is on enabling genuine personal experiences that leave an aha moment. Through the interaction of these factors, your guests will experience Japan in a way that has not been available on the German market before. Despite the group situation, our travel packages allow for very personal moments and individual experiences that they will remember long after the trip is over. Our goal is to leave a lasting impression that your guests will want to repeat. With our wide range of offers, it is easy for us to develop travel packages that offer enough novelty for "repeat offenders" to embark on a new Japan adventure with us at your side.

The managing directors

Oliver E. Kühne - Managing Director J-NAVI Germany

Travel design, B2B customer contact, consulting and marketing

 

As an art historian, East and Southeast Asia expert, Oliver has spent large parts of his life in various Asian countries since 2006. Since 2013 he worked as a tour guide, interpreter, hotel tester, travel designer and director of a package tour startup in tourism. In 2022 he fulfilled his dream and founded J-NAVI together with Martin Neumann to establish sustainable Asian tourism even more on the German market. Besides conducting business in Germany, he is constantly traveling in Asia to explore new destinations and travel trends. 

Martin Neumann - Managing Director J-NAVI Japan

Travel design, partner network and operations directly on site in Kyoto

Martin has been living and working in Kyoto, Japan since 2018, where he has worked as a tour guide and consultant for Japanese and international travel agencies. He also works in tourism promotion for local, sustainable and soft tourism in Shiga Province. Since 2022, the co-founder has been leading the development and operation of innovative and sustainable tours in all corners of Japan and overseeing J-Navigator's large partner network.

The team

J-Navigator GmbH (Berlin)

Oliver E. Kühne (Managing Director)

Andreas van Straalen (Product Manager Liaison) 

Antje Papist-Matsuo (Product Manager) 

Pascal Naudiet (Product Manager) 

Anke Pelz (Product Manager) 

Nicole Renger (Product Manager)

Yumiko Nakagawa-Krug (Transportation Manager)

Marie-Christine Dreßen (Trainee Guide Coordinator) 

Carmen Möller (Assistant Flights)

Anna Fuse (Hotel Coordinator) 

Ivo Bucan (Accounting) 

Emily Haft (Support Assistant) 

Gina Bresch (Support Assistant)

Zixu Gao (IT Support) 

J-Navigator LLC (Kyoto)

Martin Neumann (Managing Director)

Paula Sato (Director of Operations) 

Satomi Matsuura (Ground Operations Manager)

Asja Gevorgyan (Operations Manager)

Artjom Gerberg (Operations Support) 

Nadine Eikermann (Operations Support)

Seirin Kim (Reservations) 

Marie Morishita (Reservations) 

Satomi Kawazoe (Reservations) 

Risa Moori (Reservations) 

Duygu Sahin (IT Support) 

en_US

001_redid

Über J-NAVI

Als dynamische DMC mit Sitz in Berlin und Kyoto gegründet. Die zwei Gründer und Geschäftsführer Oliver E. Kühne (Asienexperte und Kunsthistoriker; rechts) und Martin Neumann (Geograph und Historiker; links) navigieren zusammen das Unternehmen, das Ihren Gästen Asien, seine Kulturen, Naturerlebnisse und Menschen nachhaltig und unvergesslich näher bringt. Mit mehr als 10 Jahre Erfahrung in unterschiedlichen Tourismusbranchen und -bereichen haben wir lokal und international zahlreiche Erfahrungen gesammelt. Ob als Reiseleitende, Unternehmer, Kulturmanager, Dozenten, Berater oder PR-Verantwortliche:

Wir wissen, was ein zeitgemäßes und trendiges Reiseerlebnis ausmacht!

Philosophie

Durch unsere langjährigen Erfahrungen im Hospitality-Bereich und direkten Gästekontakt für andere DMCs wissen wir, was sich Ihre Kund:innen (ob Gruppen oder FITs) wünschen. Ob anspruchsvolle Wanderreise, entspannte Kulinarik-Tour oder kulturelles Highlight-Programm: Mit uns an Ihrer Seite erhalten Sie ein Landpaket, welches auf Ihr jeweiliges Kundensegment perfekt zugeschnitten ist, ohne auf neue Trends und Nachhaltigkeit verzichten zu müssen. Auch LOHAS fühlen sich mit uns wohl. 

Und mehr als das: Durch unser dichtes Partnernetzwerk und unsere Firmenaufstellung in Deutschland, Japan und Südkorea, sind wir nicht nur nah an Ihrer Seite, sondern auch an der Ihrer Gäste. Betreuung ohne Zeitverschiebung und Rund um die Uhr ansprechbar! Unsere binationale Aufstellung ermöglicht es uns auch durch direkte Partnerabkommen auf dem sonst schwer zugänglichen japanischen Markt Ihnen unsere besonderen Programme zu kompetitiven Preisen anbieten zu können.

Dafür stehen wir auch mit unserem Slogan ein:

Authentisch. Nachhaltig. Unvergesslich.

Mit unseren Reisepaketen erleben Ihre Gäste die Länder Asien ganz ihrem Reisegeschmack und Interessenprofil entsprechend. Ob als herausfordernde Aktivreise oder als entspannter Luxus-Trip zu den kulinarischen und kulturellen Highlights. Dank unserer langjährigen Arbeitserfahrung auf dem internationalen Tourismusmarkt, verfügt J-NAVI über ein breites Netzwerk lokaler Partner. Dies macht es uns möglich nicht nur anspruchsvolle und trendige Destinationen anzubieten, sondern unsere Reisepakete auch zu kompetitiven Preisen anzubieten.

Durch unseren festen Standtort in Kyoto können wir zeitnah jegliche Kundenwünsche an eine Tour in die Tat umzusetzen und unsere Kontakte zu lokalen Anbietern problemlos erweitern. Wir arbeiten dafür, Ihre Träume und Wünsche an eine perfekte Reise umzusetzen und das ohne Wenn und Aber. Authentisch beinhaltet für uns selbstverständlich, dass wir Ihre Gäste mit der lokalen Bevölkerung zusammenbringen. Ob bei Homestays, Abenddinnern bei japanischen Familien, Farmbesuchen oder z.B. Expertenvorträgen: J-NAVI bringt Ihre Gäste mit den Völkern Asien zusammen.

Wir verwirklichen Nachhaltigkeit auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen unseres Unternehmens und bei unseren Touren:

  • Wir sparen unnötige CO2-Emissionen durch die Wahl kurzer Anfahrtswege zwischen den Destinationen und die Nutzung von Bahnen, öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln und Fahrräder und greifen nur dann auf Busse zurück, wenn es die Route nicht anders zulässt.
  • Wir unterstützen mit 2% unserer jährlichen Umsätze die Aufforstungsprojekte in der Sächsischen Schweiz und Brandenburg.
  • Wir setzen auf papierlose Kommunikation und setzen, wenn Papier genutzt werden muss, recyceltes Papier ein.
  • Wir vermeiden unnötige Dienstreisen und Flüge durch unsere binationale Aufstellung in Japan und Deutschland. 
  • Wir fördern lokalen Tourismus abseits der Zentren, um so auch einen nachhaltigen Beitrag für die japanische Wirtschaft zu leisten.
  • Zahlreiche unserer Touren entsprechen den Vorgaben des TourCert-Standards. 
  • Wir setzen auf Kleingruppen und sehen uns als Teil der Bewegung des „sanften Tourismus“.

Auch unser Unternehmen führen wir nachhaltig:

  • Wir bezahlen Reiseleiter:innen nach Empfehlung des Verbands deutscher Studienreiseleiter e.V.. Durch zusätzliche Aus- und Fortbildungsangebote und Festanstellungen von Reiseleiter:innen bieten wir so langfristige Perspektiven und beugen nachhaltig einem „Freiberufler-Prekariat“ vor.
  • J-NAVI will nachhaltig wachsen. Daher setzen wir bei unseren Reisepaketen auf individuelle und Zielgruppen-gerechte Angebote, die überzeugen, ohne dabei kompetitive Preisstrukturen aus dem Blick zu verlieren.
  • Wir etablieren langfristige Partnerschaften vor Ort, um so auch nachhaltig ländliche Regionen und lokale Kleinunternehmen und Traditionsunternehmen zu fördern.

Helikopterflüge über Tokyo? Besuch von Farmen und Agra-Betrieben? Dinner mit einem Sumo-Ringer? Interview mit einem Theater- oder Geschichtsexperten? Abendessen mit einer lokalen Familie zubereiten? Mit uns ist all dies möglich! 

Nicht nur ein Tempel nach dem anderen! Nicht nur ausgetretene Touristenpfade! Sondern authentische und unvergessliche Erlebnisse! 

Im Mittelpunkt steht das Ermöglichen echter persönlicher Erfahrungen, die einen Aha-Moment hinterlassen. Durch das Zusammenspiel dieser Faktoren erleben Ihre Gäste Japan auf eine Art, die es so bisher nicht auf dem deutschen Markt gibt. Unsere Reisepakete ermöglichen es trotz der Gruppensituation sehr persönliche Momente zu erleben und individuelle Erfahrungen zu machen, an die sie sich auch nach Ende der Reise noch lange erinnern werden. Unser Ziel ist es so einen nachhaltigen Erinnerungseindruck zu hinterlassen, den ihre Gäste bestimmt wiederholen werden wollen. Mit unserem breit aufgestellten Angebotsspektrum ist es uns ein leichtes im Nachgang Reisepakete zu entwickeln, die auch für „Wiederholungstäter“ genug Neues bieten, um sich abermals mit uns an Ihrer Seite auf ein neues Japan-Abenteuer zu begeben.

Die Geschäftsführer

Oliver E. Kühne – Geschäftsführer J-NAVI Deutschland

Reisedesign, B2B-Kundenkontakt, Beratung und Marketing

 

Als Kunsthistoriker, Ost- und Südostasienexperte verbringt Oliver seit 2006 große Teile seines Lebens in diversen asiatischen Ländern. Seit 2013 arbeitete er als Reiseleiter, Dolmetscher, Hoteltester, Reisedesigner und Direktor eines Pauschalreise-Startups im Tourismus. 2022 erfüllte er sich seinen Traum und gründete zusammen mit Martin Neumann J-NAVI, um nachhaltigen Asien-Tourismus noch stärker auf dem deutschen Markt zu etablieren. Neben der Geschäftsabwicklung in Deutschland ist er ständig in Asien unterwegs, um neue Destinationen und Reisetrends zu erkunden. 

Martin Neumann – Geschäftsführer J-NAVI Japan

Reisedesign, Partnernetzwerk und Operations direkt vor Ort in Kyoto

Martin lebt und arbeitet seit 2018 in Kyoto, Japan, und war dort als Reiseleiter und Consultant für japanische und internationale Reiseagenturen tätig. Er arbeitet außerdem in der Tourismusförderung für lokalen, nachhaltigen und sanften Tourismus in der Provinz Shiga. Seit 2022 leitet der Mitbegründer die Entwicklung und den Betrieb von innovativen und nachhaltigen Touren in allen Ecken Japans und betreut das große Partnernetzwerk von J-Navigator.

Das Team

J-Navigator GmbH (Berlin)

Oliver E. Kühne (Geschäftsführer)

Andreas van Straalen (Product Manager Liaison) 

Antje Papist-Matsuo (Product Manager) 

Pascal Naudiet (Product Manager) 

Anke Pelz (Product Manager) 

Nicole Renger (Product Manager)

Yumiko Nakagawa-Krug (Transportation Manager)

Marie-Christine Dreßen (Trainee Guide Coordinator) 

Carmen Möller (Assistant Flights)

Anna Fuse (Hotel Coordinator) 

Ivo Bucan (Accounting) 

Emily Haft (Support Assistant) 

Gina Bresch (Support Assistant)

Zixu Gao (IT Support) 

J-Navigator LLC (Kyoto)

Martin Neumann (Geschäftsführer)

Paula Sato (Director of Operations) 

Satomi Matsuura (Ground Operations Manager)

Asja Gevorgyan (Operations Manager)

Artjom Gerberg (Operations Support) 

Nadine Eikermann (Operations Support)

Seirin Kim (Reservations) 

Marie Morishita (Reservations) 

Satomi Kawazoe (Reservations) 

Risa Moori (Reservations) 

Duygu Sahin (IT Support) 

de_DE